Skip to main content
THIS SITE

You are here

Newark Hours

Remote Law Library Services and Resources available for faculty and students

Notice to all patrons:
As part of our COVID mitigation measures, access to the law libraries is limited to only current faculty, staff, and students. The library is not currently open to the public (inc. alumni and local bar). Thank you for understanding.
Faculty and students can and place requests for library materials through the catalog. Requests for materials not available through Rutgers can be made through ILLiad. We are also accepting returns.
Visit the above guide for more information about library resources.
For more information about the University operating status, please visit https://coronavirus.rutgers.edu.
Please note that the library's operating status is subject to change.

Reference Hours*
Reference services will be available remotely until further notice. You will see an orange bubble in the bottom-right corner of the window when a librarian is ready to chat.

Monday - Thursday

9 AM – 7 PM

Friday 9 AM – 5 PM
Weekends No Reference
Reference is also available by email or appointment.

Fall Regular Semester Hours
Monday, August 23, 2021 - Wednesday, December 1, 2021
Exceptions: Labor Day (CLOSED), and Thanksgiving

Monday - Thursday 8 AM - 11 PM
Friday 8 AM - 10 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 8 PM
Sunday 12 PM - 11 PM
*Newark Law Library Access Restrictions: Members of the public are not permitted to enter or remain in the building after 9:00 pm on week nights or after 6:00 p.m. on weekends.

Thanksgiving Hours
Wednesday, November 24, 2021 - Saturday, November 27, 2021

Wednesday, Nov. 24 8 AM - 5 PM
Thursday, Nov. 25 CLOSED
Friday, Nov. 26 CLOSED
Saturday, Nov. 27 10 AM - 5 PM

Fall Reading and Exam Period Hours
Thursday, December 2, 2021 - Monday, December 20, 2021

Monday - Thursday 8 AM - 12 AM (midnight)
Friday 8 AM - 10 PM
Saturday 8 AM - 8 PM
Sunday 12 PM (noon) - 12 AM (midnight)
Mon. Dec 20 8 AM - 10 PM
*Newark Law Library Access Restrictions: Members of the public are not permitted to enter or remain in the building after 9:00 pm on week nights or after 6:00 p.m. on weekends.

Winter Holiday Hours
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 - Sunday, January 2, 2022

Tuesday, December 21 9 AM - 5 PM
Wednesday, Dec. 22 9 AM - 5 PM
Thursday, Dec. 23 10 AM - 3 PM
Friday, December 24, 2021 -
Sunday, January 2, 2022
CLOSED
*Newark Law Library Access Restrictions: Members of the public are not permitted to enter or remain in the building after 9:00 pm on week nights or after 6:00 p.m. on weekends.

Winter Intercession Hours
Monday, January 3, 2022 - Monday, January 10, 2022

Monday - Friday 9 AM - 5 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 5 PM
Sunday 12 PM (noon) - 7 PM
*Newark Law Library Access Restrictions: Members of the public are not permitted to enter or remain in the building after 9:00 pm on week nights or after 6:00 p.m. on weekends.

Spring Regular Semester Hours
Tuesday, January 11, 2022 - Tuesday, April 26, 2022
Exceptions: MLK Jr. day (CLOSED), and Spring Recess

Monday - Thursday 8 AM - 11 PM
Friday 8 AM - 10 PM
Saturday 10 AM - 8 PM
Sunday 12 PM - 11 PM
*Newark Law Library Access Restrictions: Members of the public are not permitted to enter or remain in the building after 9:00 pm on week nights or after 6:00 p.m. on weekends.

Spring Recess Hours
Saturday, March 12, 2022 - Sunday, March 20, 2022

Saturday, March 12 10 AM - 5 PM
Sunday, March 13 12 PM (noon) - 7 PM
Monday, Mar. 14 -
Thursday, Mar. 17
9 AM - 10 PM
Friday, Mar. 18 9 AM - 5 PM
Saturday, Mar. 19 10 AM - 5 PM
Sunday, Mar. 20 12 PM (noon) - 11 PM

Spring Reading and Exam Period Hours
Wednesday, April 27, 2022 - Saturday, May 14, 2022

Monday - Thursday 8 AM - 12 AM (midnight)
Friday 8 AM - 10 PM
Saturday 8 AM - 8 PM
Sunday 12 PM (noon) - 12 AM (midnight)
Sat., May 14 8 AM - 8 PM
*Newark Law Library Access Restrictions: Members of the public are not permitted to enter or remain in the building after 9:00 pm on week nights or after 6:00 p.m. on weekends.

Summer Hours
Monday, May 17, 2021 - Saturday, July 31, 2021
Exceptions: Memorial Day (CLOSED) & Independence Day (CLOSED)

Monday - Friday 9 AM – 5 PM
Weekends CLOSED
The Law Library will be CLOSED for Memorial Day (Monday, May 25) and Independence Day (Saturday, July 4).

August Hours
Sunday, August 1, 2021 - Sunday, August 22, 2021

Monday - Friday 9 AM – 5 PM
Weekends CLOSED
Regular semester beginning Monday, August 23 TBD.

All hours are subject to change. Changes to hours will be posted on the Law Library homepage and on the front door of the Library.